welcome to the Caribbean Court of Justice
about the caribbean court of justice
about the regional judicial anmd legal services commission
judges of the caribbean court of justice
court administration
the court registry
the court schedule
the court library of the caribbean court of justice
the CCJ code of ethics
related rules
related papers and addresses
the board of trustees of the caribbean court of justice
about the caribbean region and CARICOM
the revised treaty of chaguaramas
news of the caribbean court of justice
media releases from the CCJ
Inauguration of the CCJ
contact the caribbean court of justice
Tender Notices
career at the caribbean court of justice
search the caribbean court of justice
Flags of Caricom


St. Kitts & Nevis is a parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy, with Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State, represented locally by a governor-general. It is the smallest and newest independent state in the Western hemisphere.

St. Kitts & Nevis’ national flag was adopted as the winning entry in a local competition and uses colours found in other Caribbean flags. Green, yellow and read are also the colours of the Pan-African movement, although in this context the colours officially have a different significance: green represents the islands’ fertility; red stands for the struggles of the people from slavery through colonialism to independence; and yellow is for the sunshine. The peoples’ African heritage is acknowledged by the black, while the two white stars symbolise hope and liberty.

Brief history:
First settled by the British in 1623, the tri-island state of St. Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla became an associated state with full internal autonomy in 1967. Anguilla was allowed to secede in 1971. The other two islands achieved independence as the federated state of St. Kitts & Nevis on 19 September 1983. In 1998, a vote on Nevis on a referendum to secede from the federation fell short of the two-thirds majority needed. Nevis pursues its efforts to try and separate from St. Kitts.


Area: 261 sq km (Saint Kitts 168 sq km; Nevis 93 sq km)
Capital: Basseterre (on St. Kitts)
Population: 39, 129
Language: English (official); Caribbean Creole
Currency: Eastern Caribbean (EC) dollar (US$1=EC$2.70, rate fixed since 1976)
Legal system: based on English common law.


St. Kitts & Nevis is a member of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC), based in Saint Lucia, and consisting of a High Court of Justice and a Court of Appeal. One High Court judge of the ECSC is assigned to and a resident of the islands.


Updated by the Court Protocol & Information Division 2006; Copyright 2003, Caribbean Court of Justice. All Rights Reserved. info@caribbeancourtofjustice.org; webmaster@caribbeancourtofjustice.org
134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
Grenada Antigua & Barbuda Bahamas Barbados Belize Dominica Guyana Montserrat St. Kitts & Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent & The Grendines Suriname Trinidad & Tobago