welcome to the Caribbean Court of Justice
about the caribbean court of justice
about the regional judicial anmd legal services commission
judges of the caribbean court of justice
court administration
the court registry
the court schedule
the court library of the caribbean court of justice
the CCJ code of ethics
related rules
related papers and addresses
the board of trustees of the caribbean court of justice
about the caribbean region and CARICOM
the revised treaty of chaguaramas
news of the caribbean court of justice
media releases from the CCJ
Inauguration of the CCJ
contact the caribbean court of justice
Tender Notices
career at the caribbean court of justice
search the caribbean court of justice

Flags of Caricom


Comprised of 32 islets and cays, St. Vincent & The Grenadines is a parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy, with Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State, represented locally by a governor-general.

In common with the flags of other Caribbean states, that of St. Vincent & The Grenadines emerged as the winner in a local competition. The flag comprises three vertical bands of blue (hoist), gold (double width), and green (fly), the gold band bearing three green diamonds arranged in a V pattern. The colours are symbolic: blue for the sky, yellow for the sunshine, and green for the islands’ lush vegetation. The V of diamonds stands for “Vincent”; this was introduced in 1985 to replace the previous central motif of a breadfruit leaf behind the islands’ arms.

Brief history:
European settlement of Hairoun - as St. Vincent was then called by its native Caribs was fiercely prevented by them until the 18th century. African slaves intermarried with the Caribs to give rise to the Garifuna or “Black Carib” population. In 1719, French settlement began, but the island was ceded to Britain in 1763. It changed hands several times between the British and the French, finally coming under permanent British control in 1783. St. Vincent was granted associate statehood in 1969 and independence from the United Kingdom on 27 October 1979.


Area: 389 sq km (Saint Vincent 344 sq km)
Capital: Kingstown
Population: 117,848
Language: English (official); Caribbean Creole
Currency: Eastern Caribbean (EC) dollar (US$1=EC$2.70, rate fixed since 1976)
Legal system: based on English common law.


St. Vincent & The Grenadines is a member of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC), based in Saint Lucia, and consisting of a High Court of Justice and a Court of Appeal. One High Court judge of the ECSC is assigned to and a resident of the islands.



Updated by the Court Protocol & Information Division 2006; Copyright 2003, Caribbean Court of Justice. All Rights Reserved. info@caribbeancourtofjustice.org; webmaster@caribbeancourtofjustice.org
134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
Grenada Antigua & Barbuda Bahamas Barbados Belize Dominica Guyana Montserrat St. Kitts & Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent & The Grendines Suriname Trinidad & Tobago