welcome to the Caribbean Court of Justice
about the caribbean court of justice
about the regional judicial anmd legal services commission
judges of the caribbean court of justice
court administration
the court registry
the court schedule
the court library of the caribbean court of justice
the CCJ code of ethics
related rules
related papers and addresses
the board of trustees of the caribbean court of justice
about the caribbean region and CARICOM
the revised treaty of chaguaramas
news of the caribbean court of justice
media releases from the CCJ
Inauguration of the CCJ
contact the caribbean court of justice
Tender Notices
career at the caribbean court of justice
search the caribbean court of justice

Flags of Caricom


The smallest independent country on the South American continent, the Republic of Suriname (in Dutch, Republiek Suriname) is bounded by Guyana, Brazil, French Guyane and the Atlantic Ocean.

The flag of Suriname dates from its 1975 independence. It consists of five horizontal bands of green (top, double width), white, red (quadruple width), white, and green (double width), with a large, yellow, five-pointed star centred in the red band. The colours represent fertility, justice and freedom and renewal respectively. The central gold star symbolises national sacrifice, unity and hope for the nation’s golden future. It echoes a yellow star in the centre of the national arms, dating originally from the 17 th century.

Brief history:
Dutch traders established several colonies in the Guyanas before 1600. They did not, however, gain full control of the then Dutch Guiana until the 1667 Treaty of Breda, signed among Britain, France, The Netherlands and Denmark. The Netherlands traded Manhattan, in the current US state of New York, for the territory. After becoming an autonomous part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in 1954, Suriname gained its independence in 1975. A military regime ruled the country in the 1980s, until democracy was restored in 1987. Democratic rule was briefly interrupted by the military between 1990-1991, but was subsequently restored.


Area: 163,270 sq km
Capital: Paramaribo
Population: 439,117 (July 2006 est.)
Language: Dutch (official), English (widely spoken), Sranang Tongo (Surinamese, sometimes called Taki-Taki, is the native language of Creoles and much of the younger population and is the lingua franca among others), Hindustani (a dialect of Hindi), Javanese
Currency: Surinamese dollar (Sur$) (US$1=Sur$2.73)
Legal system: Based on the Dutch legal system, incorporating French penal theory. There are Cantonal Courts and an appellate Court of Justice





Updated by the Court Protocol & Information Division 2006; Copyright 2003, Caribbean Court of Justice. All Rights Reserved. info@caribbeancourtofjustice.org; webmaster@caribbeancourtofjustice.org
134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
Grenada Antigua & Barbuda Bahamas Barbados Belize Dominica Guyana Montserrat St. Kitts & Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent & The Grendines Suriname Trinidad & Tobago