welcome to the Caribbean Court of Justice
about the caribbean court of justice
about the regional judicial anmd legal services commission
judges of the caribbean court of justice
court administration
the court registry
the court schedule
the court library of the caribbean court of justice
the CCJ code of ethics
related rules
related papers and addresses
the board of trustees of the caribbean court of justice
about the caribbean region and CARICOM
the revised treaty of chaguaramas
news of the caribbean court of justice
media releases from the CCJ
Inauguration of the CCJ
contact the caribbean court of justice
Tender Notices
career at the caribbean court of justice
search the caribbean court of justice

Flags of Caricom


The Republic of Trinidad & Tobago is a republic within the Commonwealth of Nations.


The flag of Trinidad & Tobago dates from its independence in 1962 from Britain. On a red field, there is a white-edged black diagonal band from the upper hoist to the lower fly. Red represents the vitality of the land and people and the energy and warmth of the sun; black symbolises the people’s dedication and unity of purpose, and the wealth of the land; white stands for the sea which bounds the islands, the purity of national aspirations, and the equality of all. Together the colours represent the elements of fire, earth and water encompassing the islands.

Brief history:
Amerindians were originally settled on both islands, when Columbus made landfall on Trinidad, called Iere or Kairi, in 1498. The Spanish Crown, through the 1783 Cedula of population, invited any Roman Catholic European to settle in Trinidad. Tobago meanwhile changed hands among the British, French, Dutch and Courlanders a multiplicity of times. Both islands were consolidated by Britain into the colony of Trinidad and Tobago in 1889. Chaguaramas in North-West Trinidad was chosen as the site of the capital of the short-lived Federation of the West Indies (1958-1962). Trinidad & Tobago became an independent state on 31 August 1962, and a republic within the Commonwealth of Nations on 1 August 1976.


Area: 5,128 sq km (Trinidad 4825 sq km; Tobago 303 sq km)
Capital: Port of Spain
Population: 1,065,842 (July 2006 proj.)
Language: English (official), Caribbean Creole
Currency: Trinidad & Tobago dollar (TT$) (US$1=TT$6.30)
Legal system: Supreme Court of Judicature (comprised of the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal); Trinidad & Tobago is the Seat of the Caribbean Court of Justice.





Updated by the Court Protocol & Information Division 2006; Copyright 2003, Caribbean Court of Justice. All Rights Reserved. info@caribbeancourtofjustice.org; webmaster@caribbeancourtofjustice.org
134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
Grenada Antigua & Barbuda Bahamas Barbados Belize Dominica Guyana Montserrat St. Kitts & Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent & The Grendines Suriname Trinidad & Tobago