welcome to the Caribbean Court of Justice
about the caribbean court of justice
about the regional judicial anmd legal services commission
judges of the caribbean court of justice
court administration
the court registry
the court schedule
the court library of the caribbean court of justice
the CCJ code of ethics
related rules
related papers and addresses
the board of trustees of the caribbean court of justice
about the caribbean region and CARICOM
the revised treaty of chaguaramas
news of the caribbean court of justice
media releases from the CCJ
Inauguration of the CCJ
contact the caribbean court of justice
Tender Notices
career at the caribbean court of justice
search the caribbean court of justice

Flags of Caricom



The Commonwealth of the Bahamas is a parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy, with Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State, represented locally by a governor-general.

A black equilateral triangle against the hoist superimposed on a horizontal background made up of two colours in three equal stripes, aquamarine, gold and aquamarine.
Black, a strong colour, represents the vigour and force of a united people; the triangle pointing represents the enterprise and determination of the Bahamian people to develop and process the rich resources of land and sea, symbolised by gold and aquamarine, respectively.

Brief history:
When Columbus first made landfall in the New World on “San Salvador” in 1492, Arawak Indians inhabited the islands, which the British began to settle in 1647, the islands becoming a colony of the Crown in 1783. The Bahamas became an independent state in the Commonwealth  of Nations in 1973. The prosperous Bahamian economy is based on tourism, international banking and investment management.

Area: 13,940 sq. km.
Capital: Nassau (on New Providence Island)
Population: 303, 770 (July 2006 proj. estimate)
Language: English (official); Caribbean Creole
Currency: Bahamian dollar (US$1=Bah$1)
Legal system: Based on English common law.

The Bahamas is not a signatory to the Agreement Establishing the Caribbean Court of Justice.





Updated by the Court Protocol & Information Division 2006; Copyright 2003, Caribbean Court of Justice. All Rights Reserved. info@caribbeancourtofjustice.org; webmaster@caribbeancourtofjustice.org
134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
Grenada Antigua & Barbuda Bahamas Barbados Belize Dominica Guyana Montserrat St. Kitts & Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent & The Grendines Suriname Trinidad & Tobago