welcome to the Caribbean Court of Justice
about the caribbean court of justice
about the regional judicial anmd legal services commission
judges of the caribbean court of justice
court administration
the court registry
the court schedule
the court library of the caribbean court of justice
the CCJ code of ethics
related rules
related papers and addresses
the board of trustees of the caribbean court of justice
about the caribbean region and CARICOM
the revised treaty of chaguaramas
news of the caribbean court of justice
media releases from the CCJ
Inauguration of the CCJ
contact the caribbean court of justice
Tender Notices
career at the caribbean court of justice
search the caribbean court of justice
Flags of Caricom



Belize is a parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy, with Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State, represented locally by a governor-general.

Blue with a narrow red stripe along the top and the bottom edges; at centre is a large white disk bearing the coat of arms, dating from the early 19th century, but which were not recognised until 1907. The coat of arms features a shield flanked by two workers, a mestizo and a Creole, in front of a mahogany tree, national tree and main resource,  with the motto sub umbra floreo (“I Flourish in the Shade”) on a scroll at the bottom, all encircled by a green garland. The shield’s top panels show traditional tools used in logging, once the main Belizean industry.  Below is a sailing ship, for trade.

Belize adopted an unofficial flag when it became self-governing in 1964.  This was the basis for the flag adopted at independence in 1981.

Brief history:
Located in Central America, Belize is bounded by Guatemala, Mexico and the Caribbean Sea. The Mayan civilisation flourished over Belize between AD 300 and AD 900.  British privateers and shipwrecked English seamen began settling circa 1638.  In 1862, the settlement, now named British Honduras, became a Crown Colony.  The colony attained self-government in 1964, and was renamed Belize in 1973. Territorial disputes between the UK and Guatemala delayed the independence of Belize until 21 September 1981. Guatemala, which has claimed all or part of Belize’s territory throughout its history, refused to recognize the new nation until 1992.

Area: 22, 966 sq. km.
Capital: Belmopan
Population: 287, 730 (July 2006 proj. estimate)
Language: English (official) Spanish, Mayan, Garifuna (Carib), Caribbean Creole
Currency: Belizean dollar (US$1=BZD$2)
Legal system: Based on English common law. 





Updated by the Court Protocol & Information Division 2006; Copyright 2003, Caribbean Court of Justice. All Rights Reserved. info@caribbeancourtofjustice.org; webmaster@caribbeancourtofjustice.org
134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
Grenada Antigua & Barbuda Bahamas Barbados Belize Dominica Guyana Montserrat St. Kitts & Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent & The Grendines Suriname Trinidad & Tobago