welcome to the Caribbean Court of Justice
about the caribbean court of justice
about the regional judicial anmd legal services commission
judges of the caribbean court of justice
court administration
the court registry
the court schedule
the court library of the caribbean court of justice
the CCJ code of ethics
related rules
related papers and addresses
the board of trustees of the caribbean court of justice
about the caribbean region and CARICOM
the revised treaty of chaguaramas
news of the caribbean court of justice
media releases from the CCJ
Inauguration of the CCJ
contact the caribbean court of justice
Tender Notices
career at the caribbean court of justice
search the caribbean court of justice

Flags of Caricom



The Commonwealth of Dominica is a parliamentary democracy and a republic within the Commonwealth of Nations.

Green, representing the island’s vegetation, with a centred cross of three equal bands.  The vertical part is yellow (hoist), black, and white and the horizontal part is yellow (top), black, and white.  The three strands of the cross represent the Holy Trinity and the colours symbolising: sunshine, agriculture and the native people (yellow); the purity of the people’s aspirations, and of local water (white); the soil and the people’s African heritage (black). Superimposed in the centre of the cross is a red roundel bearing a sisserou parrot, central feature of Dominica’s flag, the unique national bird; it stands for high national aspirations.  It is encircled by 10 green, five-pointed stars edged in yellow, representing the island’s 10 parishes.  They are set in a red roundel to show commitment to social justice.  The flag echoes Dominica’s national motto: Après Bondié, C’est la Ter (“After the Good Lord Comes the Land”).

Brief history:
Dominica was the last of the Caribbean islands to be colonized by Europeans due chiefly to the fierce resistance of the native Caribs. Unsuccessful attempts at colonisation were made by England in 1627 and France in 1635.  The latter ceded possession to Great Britain in 1763, which made the island a colony in 1805. Dominica took independence from the UK on 3 November 1978.  In 1980, Mary Eugenia Charles assumed office as the first female prime minister in the Caribbean. Some 3,000 Caribs still living on Dominica are the only pre-Columbian population remaining in the eastern Caribbean.

Area: 754 sq. km.
Capital: Roseau
Population: 68, 910  (July 2006 proj. estimate)
Language: English (official); French Créole; Caribbean Creole
Currency: Eastern Caribbean (EC) dollar (US$1=EC$2.70, rate fixed since 1976)
Legal system: Based on English common law.

Dominica is a member of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC), based in Saint Lucia, and consisting of a High Court of Justice and a Court of Appeal. One High Court judge of the ECSC is assigned to and a resident of the island.




Updated by the Court Protocol & Information Division 2006; Copyright 2003, Caribbean Court of Justice. All Rights Reserved. info@caribbeancourtofjustice.org; webmaster@caribbeancourtofjustice.org
134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
Grenada Antigua & Barbuda Bahamas Barbados Belize Dominica Guyana Montserrat St. Kitts & Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent & The Grendines Suriname Trinidad & Tobago