welcome to the Caribbean Court of Justice
about the caribbean court of justice
about the regional judicial anmd legal services commission
judges of the caribbean court of justice
court administration
the court registry
the court schedule
the court library of the caribbean court of justice
the CCJ code of ethics
related rules
related papers and addresses
the board of trustees of the caribbean court of justice
about the caribbean region and CARICOM
the revised treaty of chaguaramas
news of the caribbean court of justice
media releases from the CCJ
Inauguration of the CCJ
contact the caribbean court of justice
Tender Notices
career at the caribbean court of justice
search the caribbean court of justice

Flags of Caricom



Grenada is a parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy, with Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State, represented locally by a governor-general.

A rectangle divided diagonally into yellow triangles (top and bottom) and green triangles (hoist and fly), with a red border around the flag.  There are seven yellow, five-pointed stars with three centred in the top red border, three centred in the bottom red border, and one on a red disk superimposed at the centre of the flag. The nutmeg pod in the hoist triangle shows the island’s main resource. (Grenada is the world's second-largest producer of nutmeg.) The seven stars represent the seven parishes of the state.  The colours are symbolic: green is for agriculture and the land; yellow the sunshine’ and red freedom and the people’s fervour.  They are also the colours of the nationalist Pan-African movement.

Brief history:
When Columbus landed in Grenada in 1498, Caribs inhabited the island, which remained uncolonised for more than a century. The French settled Grenada in the 17th century, established sugar estates, and imported large numbers of African slaves. Britain took the island in 1762. Grenada attained self-government from the UK in 1967, and full independence on 7 February 1974, making it one of the smallest independent countries in the Western Hemisphere. Grenada was seized by a military council on 19 October 1983. Six days later the island was invaded by US forces and those of six other Caribbean nations, bringing an end to the coup d’état.

Area: 344 sq. km. (inclusive of the Grenadines islands of Carriacou and Petit Martinique)
Capital: St. George’s
Population: 89,703  (July 2006 proj. estimate)
Language: English (official); Caribbean Creole
Currency: Eastern Caribbean (EC) dollar (US$1=EC$2.70, rate fixed since 1976)
Legal system: Based on English common law.

Grenada is a member of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC), based in Saint Lucia, and consisting of a High Court of Justice and a Court of Appeal. One High Court judge of the ECSC is assigned to and a resident of the island.




Updated by the Court Protocol & Information Division 2006; Copyright 2003, Caribbean Court of Justice. All Rights Reserved. info@caribbeancourtofjustice.org; webmaster@caribbeancourtofjustice.org
134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
Grenada Antigua & Barbuda Bahamas Barbados Belize Dominica Guyana Montserrat St. Kitts & Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent & The Grendines Suriname Trinidad & Tobago