

REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO Phone: (868) 623-2225 Fax: (868) 624-5071 Website: www.caribbeancourtofjustice.org

MEDIA RELEASE (For immediate release)

No. 09:2015 13 March 2015

THE EUGENE DUPUCH LAW SCHOOL CLAIMS VICTORY A FOURTH TIME AT CCJ LAW MOOT

CCJ, Port of Spain. The Eugene Dupuch Law School of the Bahamas has won the 7th Annual Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) International Law Moot Competition.

This is a four-time win for the Bahamian law school, which came out on top over seven other teams representing law schools and law faculties throughout the Caribbean:

- 1. Faculty of Law of the University of the West Indies (Cave Hill);
- 2. Faculty of Law of the University of Technology (Jamaica);
- 3. Faculty of Law of the University of Guyana;
- 4. Faculty of Law of the University of the West Indies (St Augustine).
- 5. Hugh Wooding Law School (Trinidad & Tobago);
- 6. FHR Lim A Po School of Law (Suriname); and
- 7. Norman Manley Law School (Jamaica);

This year, advocates contended with the issues of enforcement of decisions of the CCJ as well as referrals by national courts over questions concerning the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas. Arguments were presented before a panel of CCJ Judges, which included: the Honourable Messrs. Justice Nelson, Wit and Hayton.

In his opening remarks, The Rt. Honourable Sir Dennis Byron, President of the CCJ spoke of the benefits of the moot;

"Here at the CCJ, we believe this is one of the most efficient ways of ensuring thorough knowledge of the ins and outs of the revised treaty and how it may be interpreted and applied. Mindful of the central role of the Caribbean Court of Justice in the CSME, uppermost among our concerns is that the treaty and its interpretation and application be subjects of widespread debate and discussion."

The CCJ Judges were very impressed by the high-level of submissions of the teams and commended their efforts, stating that they "*keep getting better and better each year*". The winners were applauded for their use of the various presentation tools available at the multimedia lectern of the CCJ's courtroom.

The winning team comprised of: Lowrell Lore'n Asha Edgecombe, Krisspin Romero Sands and Crystal Jaunette Newman. The institution first won the competition in 2010 and again in 2011 and 2014. Second place was awarded to the team from the Norman Manley Law School in Jamaica.

Public Education and Communications Unit: Tel: (868) 623 2225 exts. 2226 Fax: (868) 624 5071 Email: pecu@caribbeancourtofjustice.org The team from the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine was awarded a special prize for "Best Team from an Academic Institution".

Observers of today's competition included: The Commissioners of the Regional Judicial and Legal Services Commission, His Honour Anthony D.J. Gafoor, Chairman of the Tax Appeal Board, Mme. Justice Desiree Bernard, former CCJ Judge, His Excellency Dr. Lutz Görgens, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany, His Excellency Fernando Schmidt, Ambassador of Chile and Dr. E. Monica Davis, Honorary Consul for the Bahamas.

Also assisting with the proceedings were first year law students of the University of the West Indies, St Augustine Campus. They functioned as mooting registrar, mooting court support officer and other mooting court officials.

The Caribbean Court of Justice's Annual International Law Moot Court Competition was inaugurated in March 2009, to encourage budding attorneys to become familiar with the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, and other areas of International Law.

END