

CCJ Academy for Law 134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Tel: (868) 623-2225 Ext. 3229 Email: info@ccjacademy.org

MEDIA RELEASE (For immediate release)

No. 01:2023 29 September 2023

The CCJ Academy for Law Announces the Recipients of its Eminent Caribbean Jurists: Legendary Caribbean Legal Practitioners Award

Port of Spain, Trinidad. The CCJ Academy for Law proudly announces the selection of 48 exceptional Caribbean lawyers to be recognised as 'Legendary Caribbean Legal Practitioners' in the third instalment of the Academy's Eminent Caribbean Jurist series. Among the awardees are giants of the legal profession representing historical, transitional, and contemporary epochs of law and development in the region.

The Academy, which serves as the educational arm of the CCJ, created the Eminent Caribbean Jurist Awards Series in 2019 as a means of recognising and honouring the contribution of Caribbean jurists to the law and societal development. The legal legends were selected by the CCJ Academy-appointed Regional Selection and Advisory Committee, which first met on 27 September 2022. Nominations were submitted from bar associations, judiciaries, journalists, the Council for Legal Education and its law schools, other law schools in the region, professional associations, and former Eminent Caribbean Jurists. One hundred and fifteen (nominations were received from which 48 were selected having regard to regional and temporal distribution.

As part of the project, a brief profile was prepared for each honouree by specially selected essayists. These profiles will be compiled into a publication to memorialise the contribution of these outstanding legal practitioners to the development of law in the region. It is anticipated that the publication will be launched and available to the public in January 2024. As with the Academy's previous publications, it is hoped that highlighting the lives and work of these Caribbean legal personalities will inspire the younger generation of practitioners.

The full list of the selected Awardees and their essayists is attached to this release.



12

CCJ Academy for Law 134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Tel: (868) 623-2225 Ext. 3229 Email: info@ccjacademy.org

TABLE OF LEGENDARY CARIBBEAN LEGAL PRACTITIONER AWARDEES AND ESSAYISTS

No.	Country	Name of Awardee
1.	Anguilla	Hon. Mme Justice Joyce Kentish-Egan K.C.
2.	Antigua and Barbuda	Mr. Time H. Kendall K.C.
3.	Bahamas	Sir Eugene Dupuch K.C.
4.	Barbados	Sir Grantley Adams K.C.
5.	Barbados	Sir Harold "Bree" St John K.C.
6.	Barbados	Sir Jack Dear K.C.
7.	Barbados	Sir Henry Forde K.C.
8.	Barbados	Sir David Simmons K.C.
9.	Barbados	Sir Richard Cheltenham K.C.
10.	Belize	Mr. Derek Basil Courtenay S.C.
11.	Belize	Mr. B. Simeon Sampson S.C.
12.	Belize	Sir W.H. Courtenay K.C.
13.	Belize	Mr. H.W. Young K.C.
14.	British Virgin Islands	Dr. Joseph Archibald K.C.
15.	Grenada	Mr. Carol Bristol K.C.
16.	Guyana	Professor J.O.F. Haynes S.C.
17.	Guyana	Mr. Rex McKay S.C.



1

CCJ Academy for Law 134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Tel: (868) 623-2225 Ext. 3229 Email: info@ccjacademy.org

18.	Guyana	Mr. Ashton Chase S.C.
19.	Guyana	Dr. Mohamed Shahabuddeen S.C.
20.	Guyana	Sir Lionel Alfred Luckhoo S.C.
21.	Guyana	Sir Fenton Ramsahoye S.C.
22.	Guyana	Mr. Clarence Hughes S.C.
23.	Guyana	Dr. Claude Denbow S.C.
24.	Haiti	Dr. Monferrier Dorval
25.	Jamaica	Mr. Norman Manley K.C.
26.	Jamaica	Mr. Vivian O. Blake K.C.
27.	Jamaica	Mr. Dennis Morrison K.C.
28.	Jamaica	Dr. The Hon. Lloyd Barnett
29.	Jamaica	Dr. Kenneth Rattray K.C.
30.	Jamaica	Mr. Ian Ramsay K.C.
31.	Jamaica	Mr. Frank Phipps K.C.
32.	Jamaica	Hon. Mme Justice Hilary Phillips J.A. K.C.
33.	Jamaica	Mr. David Coore K.C.
34.	Jamaica	Mr J.A.G. Smith
35.	St. Kitts-Nevis	Sir Lee Moore K.C.
36.	St. Lucia	Sir Vincent Floissac K.C.
37.	St. Vincent and the Grenadines	Mr. Parnel Campbell K.C.
38.	Suriname	Mr Freddy Kruisland



1

CCJ Academy for Law 134 Henry Street, Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Tel: (868) 623-2225 Ext. 3229 Email: info@ccjacademy.org

39.	Suriname	Mr. Ben Halfhide
40.	Suriname	Mr. Stanley Marica
41.	Trinidad and Tobago	Sir Hugh Wooding K.C.
42.	Trinidad and Tobago	Mr. Tajmool Hosein K.C.
43.	Trinidad and Tobago	Mr. Karl Hudson-Phillips K.C.
44.	Trinidad and Tobago	Hon. Mr. Justice Michael de la Bastide K.C.
45.	Trinidad and Tobago	Sir Ellis Clarke K.C.
46.	Trinidad and Tobago	Mr. Allan J Alexander S.C.
47.	Trinidad and Tobago	Mr. Desmond Allum S.C.
48.	Trinidad and Tobago	Mr. Frank Solomon S.C.