About the CCJ

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) is the Caribbean regional judicial tribunal established on 14 February 2001 by the Agreement Establishing the Caribbean Court of Justice. The CCJ is a hybrid institution: a municipal court of last resort and an international court vested with original, compulsory and exclusive jurisdiction in respect of the interpretation and application of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.

Explore the Court

From concept to reality

Trace the history of the Caribbean Court of Justice, through a series of documents and significant milestones, to learn more about the CCJ's genesis to when it became inaugurated in 2005.

View the CCJ timeline
Judges of the Court

There are currently seven CCJ judges, from the region and beyond, including the President of the Court. The Agreement Establishing the Caribbean Court of Justice provides for a total of ten Judges.

Regional Judicial & Legal Services Commission

The RJLSC is an independent, non-political body of eleven persons who are responsible for the selection, hiring and discipline, and fixing the terms and conditions of employment of the Court's staff.

The Seal of the Court

The Official Seal, designed by two young Caribbean graphic artists, was subsequently crafted in brass and teak by renowned Caribbean chemist, metallurgist and jewelry, Gillian Bishop.

Caribbean Academy for Law & Court Administration (CALCA)

The Caribbean Academy for Law and Court Administration (CALCA) is integral to the work of the Caribbean Court of Justice and has as its main objective the advancing of knowledge, education, learning, research, and practical application of law and the administration of justice in the Caribbean context.

Learn more about CALCA